Linda M. Dobson
Supervisor

Lisa Wasson Councilwoman Edward Shero

Councilman

Howard Hazelton

Councilman

Carl Schoenthal
Councilman



Josh Davis

Highway Superintendent

Laurie Czapranski Town Clerk

Town Office

22 Main St. P.O. Box 15 Scottsville, NY 14546 Tel: (585) 889-1553

Fax: (585) 889-2933 www.townofwheatland.org

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

WHEREAS, a special joint meeting of the Town Board of Wheatland and Village of Scottsville Board of Trustees (The Boards) having been held on July 16, 2020 to determine whether it is in the public interest to pursue the establishment the Wheatland-Scottsville Joint Fire District, review and discuss this proposal and to determine whether it be necessary to hold a public hearing to pursue the further establishment of the fire district in accordance with the proposal, and

Whereas, The Boards having reviewed and discussed the proposal dated July 8, 2020, amended July 16th 2020, and having determined it is in the public interest to hold a public hearing to pursue the further establishment of the Wheatland-Scottsville Joint Fire District, having determined that,

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN the following resolution for the establishment of a joint fire district, to be called the Wheatland-Scottsville Joint Fire District, will be presented to the Town Board of Wheatland and The Village of Scottsville Board of Trustees (the Boards) for their consideration at a joint public hearing to be held at the office of the Village of Scottsville and Town of Wheatland at the Wheatland Town Hall, 22 Main Street, Scottsville, New York 14546 in the Village of Scottsville, Town of Wheatland on August 4th 2020 at 6:00 P.M. The joint public hearing will be held remotely and will allow at such hearing all persons interested in the establishment of the district to be heard remotely or in person at that location abiding by the social distancing rules including the wearing of masks.

The Resolution to be considered is as follows:

A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE VILLAGE OF SCOTTSVILLE AND THE TOWN BOARD OF THE TOWN OF WHEATLAND, MONROE COUNTY, NEW YORK, TO ESTABLISH A JOINT FIRE DISTRICT TO BE KNOWN AS THE WHEATLAND-SCOTTSVILLE JOINT FIRE DISTRICT, WHICH FIRE DISTRICT WILL ENCOMPASS THE VILLAGE OF SCOTTSVILLE EXCLUDING THE AREA OF THE MUMFORD FIRE DISTRICT SUBJECT TO THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS AS SET FORTH IN THE PROPOSAL DATED JULY 8, 2020 WHICH RESOLUTION IS SUBJECT TO PERMISSIVE REFERENDUM.

This resolution was thereupon duly declared to have been adopted, subject to a permissive referendum, and shall not take effect until 30 days has elapsed after its adoption, or unless approved at a special election of the qualified voters of the Village of Scottsville and the Wheatland Fire Protection District after a proper petition calling for such special election is filed with the Village Clerk of the Village of Scottsville and Town Clerk of the Town of Wheatland within the time permitted by law.

A brief description of the boundaries of the proposed Wheatland-Scottsville Joint Fire District are as follows:

The proposed fire district shall encompass the entire Village of Scottsville and the Town of Wheatland excepting those lands within the Mumford Fire District, all located within the County of Monroe, State of New York.

DATED: July 16, 2020

Laurie Czapranski Wheatland Town Clerk 22 Main St. Scottsville, New York 14546 Anne Hartman Village of Scottsville, Village Clerk 22 Main Street, Suite 3 Scottsville, NY 14546